CompTIA New Security+ 601 exam launches in November

Are you up to speed with the changes in the new CompTIA Security+ exam?

501 vs 601

The CompTIA Security + is up for a change in their cycle to align with new technologies being used in the industry. If you took the current SYO-501, the exam is based on 6 domains and each vary in weight. The first recognisable change is the new 601 has only 5 domains. Bringing the number of 35 exam objectives down from 37.

CompTIA Security SYO – 501

  1. Threats, Attacks, and Vulnerabilities 21%

  2. Technologies and Tools 22%

  3. Architecture and Design 15%

  4. Identity and Access Management 16%

  5. Risk Management 14%

  6. Cryptography and PKI 12%

CompTIA Security SYO – 601

  1. Attacks, Threats, and Vulnerabilities 24%

  2. Architecture and Design 21%

  3. Implementation 25%

  4. Operations and Incident Response 16%

  5. Governance, Risk, and Compliance 14%

What else does the SYO-601 cover?

The 601 is aligned to the latest trends and techniques, covering the most core technical skills in risk assessment and management, incident response, forensics, enterprise networks, hybrid/ cloud operations, and security controls ensuring high performance on the job.

Security+ proves hands on skills - the only baseline cybersecurity certification emphasing hands on practical skills, ensuring the security professional is better prepared to problem solve a wider variety of todays complex issues.

Our next CompTIA Security+ Instructor led course is set to run on the 14 - 18 December 2020 and we still have spaces available.

Please contact us for more details on 01752 724 000 or email

or click here for more details

68 views0 comments